نبذة عن اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين

تأسست اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين بناء على مبادرة الرئيس الأمريكي بيل كلينتون عام 1996 في مؤتمر القمة لمجموعة الدول السبع الذي انعقد في مدينة ليون الفرنسية. إن دورها الأساسي هو تدعيم التعاون بين الحكومات في التعرف على الهويات وتحديد الأماكن للأشخاص الذين تم فقدانهم خلال الصراعات المسلحة نتيجة لانتهاك حقوق الإنسان. تؤيد اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين عمل المنظمات الأخرى وتشجع مشاركة الجمهور في أنشطتها وتساهم في إيجاد العبارات المناسبة لتذكار وتكريم المفقودين.

تأسست اللجنة لتدعم اتفاقية دايتون للسلام التي وضعت حدا للصراعات في البوسنة والهرسك. يوجد مقر اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين حاليا في سراييفو. بالإضافة إلى عملها في بلدان يوغوسلافيا السابقة فإن اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين تشارك حاليا بنشاط في مساعدة الحكومات والمؤسسات الأخرى في الأنحاء المختلفة من العالم في معالجة المسائل الاجتماعية والسياسية المتعلقة بالأشخاص المفقودين وإقامة النظم الفعالة لتحديد الهويات في أعقاب الصراع أو الكوارث الطبيعية.

منذ تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2001، كانت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين أول من استخدم الحمض النووي كخطوة أولى في التعرف على هويات أعداد كبيرة من الأشخاص المفقودين من الصراع المسلح. وقامت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين بوضع قاعدة البيانات لأكثر من 90000 من الأقارب لـ 29500 من المفقودين وأكثر من 54000 من عينات العظام التي تم أخذها من رفات الموتى المستخرج من المقابر السرية في بلدان يوغوسلافيا السابقة. تمكنت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين بمطابقة الحمض النووي من الدم وعينات العظام من تحديد الهويات لأكثر من 17000  شخص تم فقدانهم بسبب الصراعات والذين تم العثور علي رفاتهم في المقابر الجماعية الخفية.

قد حول الاستخدام الفعال للحمض النووي كوسيلة لتحديد هويات العديد من الأشخاص اللجنةَ الدوليةَ لشؤون المفقودين من منظمة صغيرة تعمل على المستوى السياسي أساسا إلى أكبر برنامج تحديد هويات الأشخاص في العالم. تدير اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين أكبر مختبر عالمي لتحديد هويات الأشخاص عن طريق الحمض النووي.

بعد تسونامي في آسيا في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2004 أدت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين دورا رائدا في الجهود الرامية إلى تحديد هويات الآلاف من الضحايا في تايلاند وجزر المالديف. كذلك ساعدت اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين في تحديد هويات ضحايا إعصار كاترينا في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. في الوقت الراهن تقدم اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين مساعدة لحكومة العراق في استكشاف السبل للتصدي لمسألة حالات الاختفاء الواسعة النطاق لمدة عقود، وساعدت الكويت في تحديد هويات ضحايا الاحتلال العراقي عام 1990. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن اللجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين تشارك في المبادرة التي ترعاها الحكومة في شيلي التي تهدف إلى إنشاء عملية قانونية وتقنية لتحديد هويات بقايا الأشخاص الذين فقدوا خلال نظام بينوشيه.

كان سايروس فانس وزير الخارجية الأميركي السابق أول رئيس للجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين في الفترة من 1996 إلى 1997، ثم كان السناتور الأمريكي بوب دول رئيسا لها في الفترة من 1997 إلى 2001. ثم جيمس ف. كيمزي المحسن والمؤسس والمدير التنفيذي والرئيس الفخري لشركة أمريكا أون لاين من 2001 إلى 2011.

أما الرئيس الحالي للجنة الدولية لشؤون المفقودين هو السفير توماس ميلير.

About ICMP

The International Commission on Missing Persons was established at the initiative of U.S. President Clinton in 1996 at the G-7 Summit in Lyon, France. Its primary role is to ensure the cooperation of governments in locating and identifying those who have disappeared during armed conflict or as a result of human rights violations. ICMP also supports the work of other organizations, encourages public involvement in its activities and contributes to the development of appropriate expressions of commemoration and tribute to the missing.

The organization was established to support the Dayton Peace Agreement, which ended the conflicts in Bosnia and Herzegovina.  ICMP is currently headquartered in Sarajevo. In addition to its work in the countries of former Yugoslavia, ICMP is now actively involved in helping governments and other institutions in various parts of the world address social and political issues related to missing persons and establish effective identification systems in the wake of conflict or natural disaster.

Since November 2001, ICMP has led the way in using DNA as a first step in the identification of large numbers of persons missing from armed conflict. ICMP has developed a database of over 90,000 relatives of 29,500 missing people, and more than 54,000 bone samples taken from mortal remains exhumed from clandestine graves in the countries of former Yugoslavia. By matching DNA from blood and bone samples, ICMP has been able to identify over 17,000 people who were missing from the conflicts and whose mortal remains were found in hidden graves.

The effective use of DNA as a means of mass identification has transformed ICMP from a small organization operating on an essentially political level into the biggest identification program in the world. ICMP currently operates the world’s largest high-throughput DNA human identification facility.

After the Asian tsunami in December 2004, ICMP played a leading role in efforts to identify thousands of victims in Thailand and the Maldives. ICMP has also assisted in identifying the victims of Hurricane Katrina in the United States.  ICMP is currently assisting the Government of Iraq in exploring ways to address the issue of decades of large-scale disappearances and has assisted Kuwait in identifying victims of Iraq’s 1990’s occupation.  Additionally, ICMP is a participant in a Government-sponsored initiative in Chile aimed at establishing a legal and technical process to identify the remains of people who went missing during the Pinochet regime.

ICMP was first chaired by former U.S. Secretary of State Cyrus Vance from 1996 to 1997, then by U.S. Senator Bob Dole from 1997 to 2001, and by James V. Kimsey, philanthropist and Founding CEO and Chairman Emeritus of America Online, from 2001 to 2011. ICMP’s current Chairman is Ambassador Thomas Miller.